Thread: I LOVE MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS!!! (A Great Experience.)

Talking I LOVE MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS!!! (A Great Experience.)

(I'll get some pictures soon...)

Well, yesterday a co-worker of mine offered to lend me her car for a while if I took it home and washed it, waxed it, swept out the inside, cleaned out the dash and consol, shined up the tires etc.

It's a 5-speed TDI (Turbocharged Diesel) VW Jetta. She has rims and low-profile tires on it.

Well, I drove around town to get a few things (like rain-x and tech-wax) for about 20 minutes getting used to the feel. At this point I can kind of drive a manual transmission but this is my first time driving around the city and my first time alone.

Either way, by the time I got it home I wasn't stalling and I didn't grind gears at all during the lenght of this story. I got the car all pretty, took it back to her (she was really excited and extremely impressed) and said "If I put 10 bucks worth of gas in it can I take it out for a little longer?" To which she responds, "How about I pay you ten dollars less and you can drive it all night...have fun with it."

It's 7 or 8p.m. at this point and I didn't return the car until 11:45p.m. when she was finally leaving work.

I took that car just about everywhere, I even met a turbocharged civic that was all riced out and had to be the ugliest thing I had ever seen and after dusting him from a light to 80 (on a large open highway) he replied "It's not runnin' right" and gave me the thumbs up. I told him "Well that sucks for you because it's my first time driving a manual!" (A Turbo Hyabusa immediately blew BETWEEN our cars on one wheel.)

I also got a friend and found some deserted sections of town out in the country and railed through the gears on the twisties. That was fun. I was careful I promise.