Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Denso plugs

Denso plugs

Another dumb question from a newbie here - I see a lot of you have Denso plugs as mods.
    I got 3 q's for you:

1)What are the advantages here ?
    2)How easy are they to change ?
    3)Would their installation upset factory warranty ?

Re: Denso plugs

Originally posted by usgecko
    1)What are the advantages here ?
    Dennis said so!!
    MOK

|Administrator, MM.Net | International Director of Membership|

--------------------------

I don't brake for curves!

The eyes may be the doorway to the soul,

but the voice is the chariot to the heavens

1) Although they add a few HP by themselves, they're really part of a "package" with the chip (or re-flashed ECM) and a cooler thermostat, that allow Dennis's programming to work at its best...

2) They are VERY easy to change.

3) ANYTHING you do to this car "may" void the warranty, if your dealer chooses to pursue that line...but the dealer would be more likely to void it for having a chip than for having the plugs...this is a very gray area; for instance, some dealers will happily install the 4.10 gears and honor the warranty, but some absolutely refuse (like mine )...
    The Blackbird
    Trilogy #61
    Driveway Queen

The Spruce Goose
    2004 Grand Marquis LS Limited Edition
    Daily Driver

Gap and torque specs for Densos?

I just ordered a set of Denso IT-22s from Reinhart Automotive (two steps colder--Dennis said that it'll be fine for my N/A Marauder) instead of the IT-20s since I plan on getting a supercharger later this year anyway. I'll be getting the Densos and the 180° thermostat next week to complement my recent dynotune from Jerry. I just have two questions . . .

1. Are the Densos pre-gapped? If not, what gap?
    2. What is the torque ft.lb. spec for wrenching the plugs?

Thanks.

2003 Mercury Marauder 300B, matte-black, S55 taillights.