PDA

View Full Version : Now This Is Justice!!!

TheDealer
01-27-2005, 10:46 AM
http://www.cnn.com/2005/US/01/26/store.shooting.ap/index.html

Dr Caleb
01-27-2005, 11:45 AM
"I just started shooting," said Gloria Turner, 56. "I was trying to blow his brains out is what I was trying to do."

Sorry Ray, that isn't "justice". That's vengance. Different animal, but often confused.

RF Overlord
01-27-2005, 12:16 PM
Doesn't matter if it was justice or vengeance...the two burglars were knowingly committing multiple felonies, including firing the first shot, and deserved what they got. Unfortunately, their survivors will probably bring civil action and the store owners will lose...

Haggis
01-27-2005, 12:50 PM
Sounds more like poetic justice to me.

Two Hawks
01-27-2005, 01:01 PM
Let us not forget, if the gun lobbyists had their way, these victims would not have been able to defend themselves and would have probably been killed, considering one attempt had already taken place.

With all respect Dr Caleb, the object in a gun fight is to "blow his brains out" before he does it to you. I don't think her statement should be confused with vengeance, just a poor choice of words brought on by a very traumatic experience. Not to mention who fired first.

Also, RF Overlord your conjecture "Unfortunately, their survivors will probably bring civil action and the store owners will lose...", lets hope the jury, if it does go that direction, has as much courage and conviction as the store owners had. Otherwise self-defense is no defense.

That's my :twocents:

klmore
01-27-2005, 01:04 PM
Doesn't matter if it was justice or vengeance...the two burglars were knowingly committing multiple felonies, including firing the first shot, and deserved what they got. Unfortunately, their survivors will probably bring civil action and the store owners will lose...
I agree. Either way the country is down two more dead beats, but your right the owners will most likely loose in court.

michburt