PDA

View Full Version : $30000 Family Sedans

Sully008
06-26-2005, 01:54 AM
Anybody read the $30000 Family sedans comparo in Car and Driver? I'm surprised that the Toyota Avalon does 0 to 60 in 6 secs., and the 1/4 in 14.6 @ 99mph? :eek:

Not to mention the average times of all the cars is about equal to what our stock MMs do.

Do I need to be worried about Gramps in his stock Avalon vs my slightly modded Marauder?

Linky (http://www.caranddriver.com/article.asp?section_id=15&article_id=9639)

metroplex
06-26-2005, 06:05 AM
Like I have been saying for the past 2 years, almost every import car in the same class as the Panther will beat it off the line and in the 1/4. People think "import" and think Honduh Civic. For the past 7-8 years, no stock 98-up Panther has been able to outrun the same MY stock Nissan Maxima - just as an example.

IIRC the latest Maximas are pushing near 260 hp out of a V6. 10 more hp than the 2004-up CVPI. Granted the V6 has less torque but the Maximas are also lighter. That does not change the fact the Maxima is a 4-door family sedan, same as the Panther. I bet the Maxima also comes with a tachometer, which most of the Panthers do not have (except for Marauders).

QWK SVT
06-26-2005, 08:09 AM
Anybody read the $30000 Family sedans comparo in Car and Driver? I'm surprised that the Toyota Avalon does 0 to 60 in 6 secs., and the 1/4 in 14.6 @ 99mph? :eek:

Not to mention the average times of all the cars is about equal to what our stock MMs do.

Do I need to be worried about Gramps in his stock Avalon vs my slightly modded Marauder?

Linky (http://www.caranddriver.com/article.asp?section_id=15&article_id=9639)
Basically, that's pretty much what it's saying :( Unfortunately, mid - high 14's seems to be the going rate for a big car, these days. If you're not running a sub 14-second time, odds are there's a lot out there that will walk away, too without much trouble. Don't forget, a FWD car will have issues getting out of the gate (wheelspin).