PDA

View Full Version : Weird E-mail. Scam?

Leadfoot281
09-12-2005, 11:38 PM
I posted an ad on a local radio stations web-site. I'm selling four 16" American Racing wheels.Four lug. Good Bfg tires. $499. Someone responded;

Are the wheels still for sale? Please get back to me soon.

I responded; Yes. Want some pics? (I didn't have pics posted on the site)

He responded; My name is cole. I am an agent and my client wants to buy the wheels. $499 is good. A check will be sent USPS and some extra for shipping. Give me you're cell phone number and home address so I can send check.

I wrote; "What do you mean by "client"? And what do you mean by "agent""?

He wrote; "The client buys the wheel. I am the agent. I buy for from you.That make me agent".

This guy "agent cole" has never even seen my used wheels. Nor has his "client". Yet they apparently thought $499 was a good deal on used 16" wheels. How weird is this? Would you hire "agent cole" to buy wheels (sight-unseen) for YOUR car? Is this some sort of scam?

the_pack_rat
09-13-2005, 12:30 AM
A flimee' de flamee' extraordinairre.

The next time you hear from this so called agent, it will go something like this :

" I have just received a check made out to/on behalf of my client for $2000.00. MY client would prefer to use $499 from this $2000 check. He has authorized me to sign over the $2000 check to you, & all you have to do his wire back the difference of $1501 ".

Long story short ...

The check will be a fake ... & you will out be $1501.00.

There's a website dedicated to such losers :

http://419eater.com/

Some people actually play along with these con artists for awhile ... just to have some fun.

A guy on one of the Olds lists strung along sone of these bozos for like 2 weeks or something.

Twas' pretty amusing.

DEFYANT
09-13-2005, 01:01 AM