PDA

View Full Version : Anyone who knows jeeps

RR|Suki
10-30-2006, 07:22 AM
I've posted this on a few different forums, trying to get a good idea of what to do I'm looking at maybe buying this jeep for the winter it's a 1991,

It's the 2.5L I4. 30Kmi on a new engine, 10K on the new trans and clutch. New windsheild, battery tires. 200K on the chassis, it needs a new top (soft top). I went and looked at it, drives very nice deffinately a new engine, and the clutch doesn't even feel totally broke in honestly. kid's mom is sellin it, he bought a new car and blah blah blah. Wants 3,300 worth it? I'm not a jeep expert. , especially as all the big repairs are already done...

I was thinking of offering 3000...

cyclopsram
10-30-2006, 07:31 AM
200 K on the chassis....keep lookin' my advice... RAM

Krytin
10-30-2006, 07:31 AM
There are still some big ticket items left - transfer case and differentials/axles

Bigdogjim
10-30-2006, 08:17 AM
Soft top ........$500.00

gpfarrell
10-30-2006, 08:32 AM
Me thinks it's really hard to buy anything with 200k on it.

Yeah, some of the big stuff is done, but as posted above there still could be a bit more to go.

As nice as it is to have the big things done though, the "little things" can be really annoying. Stuff like wiper motors, or the pump that runs the washers, or the do-flickey that cancels the turn signal when you're done turning... can really drain the pride in ownership.

I'd think a 2.5l stick-shift should be a great winter Jeep, but its also the bottom of the Jeep food chain. Finding a buyer for it will be extra hard because few of them ever hit 200k.

Unless it's got lots of candy that you like (stereo, chrome wheels, etc), I'd keep looking.

Seems to me you might spend $4k for one with half the miles, half the aggravation, and a much better resale value.

Two cents for me please!

Raudermaster
10-30-2006, 08:34 AM