PDA

View Full Version : Any guitar players?

Eric91Z
11-24-2006, 07:39 AM
Well, I have always appreciated good guitar music and have always wanted to learn to play. A couple of years ago I bought a new electric guitar and I have my mom's older acoustic guitar.

Well, with a pending divorce, I want to start making plans for that to be one of the things I can finally do with my free time I will have once I am single again.

So, I was wondering how many of you are self-taught guitar players? And what did you use to learn? Books, video, computer learning, etc? Any and all input appreciated.

Thanks,

Marauderoz
11-24-2006, 09:47 AM
I've been playing guitar off and on for 38 years.

After 15 years of playing, I took my first lesson.

This was the biggest mistake anyone can make. Half of my first 15 years of work were wasted on bad habits.

Please, please, please take private or group lessons and start on the best guitar possible.

Krytin
11-24-2006, 10:38 AM
What he ^^^said!
Take lessons from someone who can teach new adult players and that you feel comfortable with. Learn to read music and some basic music theory. Bad habits are twice the work - unlearn the wrong way & then learn the right way. Save yourself the trouble and learn it right the first time!

3rdcoastmrauder
11-24-2006, 10:54 AM
Ditto! +1

SID210SA
11-24-2006, 11:04 AM
I have two classical guitars dont know how to play yet...

Eric91Z
11-24-2006, 11:51 AM
Thanks for the input. I do understand how to read music after playing piano and sax through elementary and high school. Just wasn't sure if it was something I could do on my own.

Guess I will need to start looking around for a quality teacher when I move down closer to work.

Motorhead350
11-24-2006, 01:05 PM