PDA

View Full Version : Tech Support Heck

BruteForce
04-14-2008, 12:57 PM
Two good ones I haven't seen before.

Duly Noted from Ed

Back in the early ‘90s, I worked as a tech/salesguy at a local computer shop in London. In those days, Atari ST’s, Amigas, and Amstrad PCWs were all the rage, and we sold all sorts of software over the counter and through mail order.

One of the more popular applications was the Mini-Office Professional. It was easy to use and relatively inexpensive. One day, one of our frequent customers – a very nice, little old lady – called up, complaining about some issues with the application on her Amstrad PC 1640. After a pleasant couple of minutes, I deduced that there was a sector fault on the second 5 1/4" disk.

The old dear was more than happy to send the offending disks back to me for replacement, and I asked her to include a small note so that I’d remember what the issue was.

A few days later, a Jiffy bag (ED: translation “padded envelope”) duly arrived at the shop with a large, red “FRAGILE” stamp on the front. Enclosed were two pieces of thick cardboard to hold the offending 5 1/4" disk, a long, handwritten note with the most beautiful penmanship I’ve ever seen that detailed the exact error message she’d encountered — all neatly stapled to the disk.

Denied Wireless Access from Muki

A coworker of mine named "Jim" got a call from his manager, "Susan." She was in a panic because her inventory management software wasn't working. Not a good thing to happen to the Inventory Manager. Moreover, the software was the only software installed on the system, so Jim feared that it was a total system crash.

Upon arriving to Susan's office, Jim was pleasantly surprised to see a blank monitor — the computer was probably just turned off or there was a loose cable or something. Upon almost no further investigation, Jim found the source of the problem. The laptop dock had no laptop in it.

"Susan, where is your laptop," Jim asked.