PDA

View Full Version : Guitar advice needed

not5-0
05-04-2008, 06:23 PM
My son who is 15 has expressed interest in playing guitar. We went to a music store this weekend and I was overwhelmed by the experience. Basically, I am more confused than ever. Does anyone have any advice or suggestions as to what to get. I did notice many guitar/amp starter kits available on line for about $200.00. Are they a waste of money?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

fastblackmerc
05-04-2008, 06:56 PM
Went thru the same thing with my son.

Find a teacher and get his opinion on what to get. Doesn't have to be the best but don't get the cheapest either. IMHO start with a acoustic guitar (non-electric).

Rocknthehawk
05-04-2008, 09:24 PM
Start with an electric, you'll be glad you did.

I've been playing bass for 8 years now.

I started with a squier...great starter guitars. I actually recorded a cd with mine, and the producer was amazed at the sound and playability.

the start packs are perfect. The only way to get something cheaper is to buy used equipment.

Rogue also makes cheap starter guitars, but i don't like the playability. Stay away from any retail store brands or off brands. I like squiers, and they're made by Fender.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Squier-Stop-Dreaming-SE-Special-Pack-With-Squier-SP10-Amp?sku=513287

Something like that is perfect. That way if he decides he doesn't enjoy it, you're not out a lot of money.

There's also more expensive packages with better amps and guitars.

Motorhead350
05-05-2008, 01:02 AM