PDA

View Full Version : winter drivers get in here!

duhtroll
12-11-2008, 11:43 AM
Hey - I've driven lots in the winter but my crown vic has me stumped on why it sucks so bad in snow. I have been driving in midwest winters for 22 years now -- never once been in an accident, though the 2000 CVPI I have now wants to be the first, and it wants it badly.

The MM when it had snow tires on it was one of the best cars I had ever driven in winter. I didn't even need to have extra weight in the trunk.

Anyway, the CVPI has Cooper CS4s on all 4 corners, not a snow tire but rated well for an all-season tire. I also have 200# in the trunk - 4 bags of solar salt. I just replaced the shocks.

Why is this car wanting to spin out every chance it gets? I get passed by everything on the highway now when it's wet and below freezing, or snowing or icy. I can't match the speed of anyone, even the little roller skates on street tires.

I have never owned dedicated snow tires other than the ones I had on the MM. These Coopers should be at least as good as other all-seasons. I can't believe it is just tires, but it could be.

I have enough $ in the tires that I am not switching. They are worth almost as much as the car is, so if I switch tires, it will be because they are on a different vehicle.

Suggestions?

Egon Spengler
12-11-2008, 11:47 AM
I'd say buy a snow tire instead of all season! My MM plows through the snow like nothing... last year I was passing all sorts of vehicles that I thought would have passed me... including 4x4's!!! I don't know what your prob could be!

Black Dynamite
12-11-2008, 11:56 AM
Unfortuantely it probably is the tires. IMO anyway. I'm stuck running the stock BFG's for winter, 200# in the trunk too and it sucks ASS on slick streets.

Egon Spengler
12-11-2008, 12:01 PM