PDA

View Full Version : driving in the snow

stangracr
12-28-2008, 04:36 PM
Man I have read all the post about how bad the BFGs are in the snow but thought that maybe it was just talk. My tires only have maybe 5,000 miles on them. I had to drive the Marauder today. How can a car so heavy be so bad in the snow. I might have to ordered snow tires for it. You cant buy snow tires anywhere in my area. I dont plan on driving the car when the weather is bad but I do use this car for out of town trips and I would hate to get caught out in bad weather with this. Does anyone think it would help to add some weight in the rear? I didnt think I would need it with a car this size.

ed

TJCOX
12-28-2008, 04:43 PM
Try tirerack.com and if they have them they can ship them to your
home and then have them mounted at the tire store that tire rack
recommends....Good Luck!
Try the snow tires without additional weight and see how they perform.

Ms. Denmark
12-28-2008, 04:56 PM
It's my first year on snow tires and trust me it makes a huge difference. Well worth it for safety sake if you live or travel where it snows.

Blk Mamba
12-28-2008, 04:59 PM
It's only heavy in the front end, posi-trac doesn't help either, plus the torque doesn't allow for a smooth take off, but stops just fine. Enjoy. I drive it all winter with OEM's in Cleveland.

Fourth Horseman
12-28-2008, 07:00 PM
IMHO, driving in winter is all about having the right tires. I put snow tires on my Mustang GT for daily driving and it's awesome in the snow. I use my Marauder's stock wheels and BFGs for winter driving and the poor thing can hardly get started on slick roads. Of course, the rears are nearly bald. Not sure how that happened. :lol:

Thinking real hard about getting some snow tires for it. My experience has been that the Marauder itself does real well in snow, it's just a tire issue.

offroadkarter
12-28-2008, 07:03 PM