PDA

View Full Version : Bad design by Ford...

hot-rauder
01-01-2009, 11:25 PM
Reading up a little on my new Fusion, and well Ford had to mess this one up too!!

I have never even heard of cartridge oil changes, but I'm not a mechanic. From what I read they are a PITA, and expensive if you go to a dealer.

Anyone have advice or experience?

Heres pics from a Fusion Forum members oil change.....

Oil Filter drain plug
http://mlav.com/car/fusion/filt1.jpg

Filter cartridge and O-rings
http://mlav.com/car/fusion/filt3.jpg

Filter Housing...
http://mlav.com/car/fusion/filt4.jpg

1.Remove filter drain plug.
2.Remove cartridge.
3.Remove filter housing.
4.Replace O-Ring on housing.
5.Reinstall housing.
6.Install cartridge.
7.Replace O-Ring on drain plug.
8.Reinstall drain plug.

FRAM charges $12 for just the cartridge and NO O-RINGS!
Mazda, same motor as Mazda3, charges $5 shipped with O-Rings lol

SVT_MERC
01-02-2009, 02:29 AM
I've dealt with these on an '04 6.0 Diesel F-250, Oil (and fuel if i'm not mistaken) filters are that style. It was very easy on that, not sure of a fusion though.

RoyLPita
01-02-2009, 02:53 AM
Where I work, we do not charge any different for the Fusion 4 cyl oil change with this filter.

UncleLar
01-02-2009, 03:54 AM
Those bring back memories,Chevy's had that style standard until sometime in the 1960's.
After you dropped the canister you got to pull the filter and then clean the inside of the canister with solvent or parts cleaner.One advantage that they had was when you changed your oil it was really easy to look at the filter and see what kinds of chunks of crud and stuff was in your oil.

hot-rauder
01-02-2009, 06:01 AM
Those bring back memories,Chevy's had that style standard until sometime in the 1960's.