PDA

View Full Version : I'm claiming the crown - first DEDICATED MM winter beater

swc69
01-17-2009, 08:36 AM
So - I know a lot of us drive our MM's in the snow. I've been doing it myself for 5 years now and 100k miles here in Michigan winters. I'm claiming the crown for the first MM that's a dedicated winter only car.

Picked up a 2008 STS-V last week, so my MM becomes my official winter car. When spring comes I'll drop the insurance down to storage and throw a car cover on it in the driveway.

The dealer was only going to give me $5k on a trade-in, and I had just spent $1200 on brakes, rotors, a bunch of seals and a rear axle. No sense in just giving it away - and it keeps me from spending another $2k on winter wheels and tires for the Caddie.

Now I'm off to the garage to figure out why my MM is overheating. No heat at all at idle, so it probably needs the cooling system bled. (Again).

(Attached pic is me stuck in my driveway with my new ride on the way home from the dealer. I hate winter).

ludwigvan968
01-17-2009, 09:28 AM
congrats on the new car. Did it come with recaro seats, or is that CTS-V only?

BODYMAN
01-17-2009, 09:51 AM
A Marauder sitting in the SUMMER time??

03Farmmarauder
01-17-2009, 09:57 AM
Winter Beater, I never thought i would see the day. WOW!!! :shake:

swc69
01-17-2009, 10:23 AM
congrats on the new car. Did it come with recaro seats, or is that CTS-V only?

Recaros are available on 2009 CTS-V only. I looked at'em, but I hate buying new cars due to initial depreciation. And they ain't cheap. A new STS-V is about $10k over the CTS-V, but my local dealer had 2 used 2008's at nearly HALF-OFF the 2008 sticker price. That's like a $35k depreciation in 6 months. Holy Cats! But it puts them to a point where a mere mortal can buy a pretty high-end car. (Plus it includes a 6 year / 100k mile GM Certified Bumper to Bumper warranty). Hard to pass up.