PDA

View Full Version : Engine Swap Story

FordNut
10-08-2009, 08:35 PM
Finally got it done...
NOT the Marauder this time.

Long story, starting at the beginning.

A few years ago one of my motocycles blew the engine. It was the Eliminator, but the engine is about 95% the same as the Concours. When it blew, the block busted so I knew I had to have a whole replacement engine and since the 1000 Eliminator was only made for 1 year they're very difficult to find. So I bought a used Concours engine. Since I've been working out of state and travelling for the past 7 years or so, the bike and engine have been sitting over in the corner of the garage just waiting for me to get around to it.

Now that I'm out of a job, it's time to catch up on some of the projects that have been sitting around. So I spend about 2 days pulling the engine out of the Eliminator, a real PITA because it's shaft drive and the swingarm & driveshaft has to be removed to pull the engine. So the rear of the bike has to be suspended from a stand until I can get it all back together. I found a use for the squat rack that's been taking up garage space.

Started pulling it apart and got a real surprise. I knew the block was broken at the back, under the carbs where the starter & alternator attach. I thought an idler gear or something had caused the problem, when it blew I was running up the superslab in the hammer lane about 80-85 and it kinda went ka-chunk then slid sideways a little bit from the oil going under the rear tire. I pulled over and looked at it, the block was busted and alternator just hanging there. I went ahead and rode it home, it was running like crap but I took it easy and made it home ok. Well, when I pulled the radiator I saw the real cause of the damage. A huge hole in the block where it had slung a rod. Amazing.