PDA

View Full Version : Retirement coming up...

rayjay
11-09-2009, 05:56 AM
A lot of you folks know I'm in my last year of my chosen career. I'm considering my monthly finances once I pull the plug next year. We currently own three cars. Two of which are paid for. The DTR and a Passat. My daily, a late model year 08 Aveo, I know :rolleyes:, will be paid for by next summer. Thing is I really love the Marauder, but do not need it. The Aveo is practical, but I certainly don't love it. I HATE the Passat. Anyway, that f&^%ing thing is hers. It would be stupid to get rid of the Aveo once I pay it off in under two years. I really DON'T need a car payment once I retire and I'm not going to keep working just to pay a for car. That would really be knuts... 93 is like $3.09 and climbing here, so if that keeps up the Marauder may not even come out of storage next spring, screw em.

Suggestions? :(

SC Cheesehead
11-09-2009, 05:58 AM
Ray, sell the house, auction off the dogs, put the wife and kid to work, keep the DTR...;)

rayjay
11-09-2009, 06:00 AM
Ray, sell the house, auction off the dogs, put the wife and kid to work, keep the DTR...;)

Nice Rex, ya that'll work... :lol:

Jimimac43
11-09-2009, 06:42 AM
Ray Jay, I feel your pain. I retired 8 years ago, and it was one of the hardest things I ever did. You wonder about the money and how it will affect you standard of living. Surprisingly, things are pretty darn good. My biggest concern is health insurance! Fortunately my wife insists on working and the insurance is very good. Remember when you retire a rule of thumb at the house is" Twice as much RayJay on half as much money"! Keep the Marauder, It will work out!

Dragcity
11-09-2009, 10:00 AM
Good for you Ray.

Why not keep the Marauder. You are only going to drive when you want to anyway. Might as well drive what you like. Me, I'd loose the Aveo. Get an old pick-up. You'll need something to do.

Bluerauder
11-09-2009, 11:06 AM