PDA

View Full Version : Moldy Mildew Odor Problem

fastcar
04-25-2010, 08:18 PM
Gang,

Anyone had this issue? I opened the car up one morning, and it just stunk. I hadn't driven it for a week...

It smelled fine when I brought it out of storage back in March. It's totally weird, and is not going away by itself...

It was under a car cover for the week before I noticed the problem. But, I have been using this car cover for 2 years with no issues. Used it all winter - no problem when I put it on the road. The car cover smells totally clean.

The trunk smells good (which is where I store the cover when it's off the car).

I have not even turned the A/C on yet. The odor is better when the vents are on, because it ventilates the cabin.

I have felt around the rug, and headliner trying to find a wet spot or leak, with no luck.

I hate this problem. When I drive the car, it's the only thing I think about now...

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,

fastcar :(

keywords: mold, stink, stinks, odors, issue, musty, must

Mr. Man
04-25-2010, 09:07 PM
Would have thought it was a water issue. Are the back of the floor mats moldy? Do they stink. Don't suppose there is a half eaten ham sandwich under the seat. Do the old nose test and see if you can narrow down the source.

guccijayda
04-25-2010, 09:15 PM
wow this is a rare problem! I would think of mildew or water leakage somewhere in the cabin like you checked. Other than that maybe the burning of some type of fluid under your hood?(antifreeze, etc). Maybe check for leaks where you park at? Not too sure what else I'm sure some experts will chime in on this!

guccijayda
04-25-2010, 09:20 PM
yes def. check for a piece of egg or food that may have got stuck somewhere lol.!!Could b the issue

sconut1
04-25-2010, 09:44 PM
Does the problem get worse when you turn on the car's ventilation system, including the heat or vent settings or is it the same with or without turning on the ventilation system?

sconut1