PDA

View Full Version : Cops and Judges Caught Using Secret Codes on Tickets

ctrlraven
02-22-2012, 06:43 AM
http://www.ebaumsworld.com/video/watch/82283669/

MOTOWN
02-22-2012, 06:53 AM
This is nothing new, nor a secret! there has always been a remarks section on tickets for the officer to note there remarks about the incident, and judges always ask about a drivers demeanor.

martyo
02-22-2012, 06:55 AM
My wife got a speeding ticket a few months back.

The cop said he already reduced the speed before issuing the ticket. His note to the judge that he did that was "circling" the speed indicated on the ticket itself.

As a lawyer, I feel that this practice is what is known as an "ex parte" communication between teh witness and the judge, but that's just me.

FrankJAG
02-22-2012, 06:56 AM
Wonder if they have a secret handshake or decoder ring too! LOL

4drcbra
02-22-2012, 06:59 AM
Sure do. Its similar to loyal water buffalo from the flintstones

MOTOWN
02-22-2012, 07:01 AM
My wife got a speeding ticket a few months back.

The cop said he already reduced the speed before issuing the ticket. His not to the drive that he did that was "circling" the speed indicated on the ticket itself.

As a lwayer, I feel that this practice is what is known as an "ex parte" communication between teh witness and the judge, but that's just me.

You make an excellent point! thats the way it was tought in the academy, i remeber the sgt saying it was the most powerful part of the citation! and your chance to place the judge at the scene! so to speak

sailsmen
02-22-2012, 07:03 AM
It's all about the money.
A parkway added an extra turn lane and did not update the lane sinage. This resulted in the existing sinage giving permission to go straight from the turn lane.

I went straight per the sinage and was issued a ticket.