PDA

View Full Version : What else do you tinker with?

Green96
08-14-2013, 05:26 PM
Other than cars, what else do you habitually "improve"?

For me it is the house and computer related improvements. for example:

Laptop gives me trouble but the Windows key has worn off the bottom - I install an OS that nobody has even heard of. I have been running Mint 14 for about 6 months.

Router gives me trouble- I install open source firmware called DD-WRT.

House humidity won't go down in the summer because the A/C is working too well - I study the blower settings and turn down my blower to make it run longer to get to temp. (caution - do not change your heater related blower speed because it can cause your furnace to overheat)

House humidity too low in the winter - I install whole house humidification systems upstairs and down.

Should I go on, or have I outed myself as a dork?

MOTOWN
08-14-2013, 05:33 PM
I fix anything i can get my paws on, cars, houses, computers, women! lol

whitey
08-14-2013, 05:52 PM
ive become an e-cig junkie lately. stopped smoking april 26th, and will never go back to a real cig. I like tinkering with EVERYTHING that I can afford to break and replace if need be, my wife doesn't understand why I cant just leave stuff alone....she doesn't understand that if I can make it better, I will.

MyBlackBeasts
08-14-2013, 05:57 PM
One of the advantages of natural mechanical aptitude and decades of professional wrenching on every possible type of vehicle is I do everything for myself.

Cars, trucks, new/old, domestic/imports, Semi's, trailers, refers, heavy equipment, rough/finish carpentry, electrical, plumbing, roofing, boats, small engine, apliances, electronics, computers (build them as a hobby), I do all IT and networked my business offices.

The only thing I pay someone else to do is something requiring equipment to costly to get for myself - like alignment.

You name it, I've worked on it.

Was helping my daddy repair/rebuild cars before I could walk.